More Links

International Conference on ‘New Insights into Diseases and Recent Therapeutic Approaches’

January 17, 2014 at 10:00 AM

InternationalConference( JU):
Driven by the success of NATCONPH for four consecutive years (2010-2013), NSHM College of Pharmaceutical Technology, this year joined hands with Department of Pharmaceutical Technology, Jadavpur University and International Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists & Technologists (IAPST) to organize an International Conference on New Insights into Diseases and Recent Therapeutic Approaches, from 17th -19th January, 2014 at the Jadavpur University. The objective of such collaboration is obviously to reach to a huge number of population not only at the National but also at the International stage.

The inaugural session on 17th January,2014, was marked with the lamp lighting by the honourable members on the dais, Dr. Amalendu Basu, Additional Director, Directorate of Technical Education, Govt of West Bengal, Prof. Tapan Kumar Maity, Head of the Department, Department of Pharmaceutical Technology, Jadavpur University, Prof. Malay Chatterjee, Prof. Subhasis Maity. Dr. Ambika C Banerjee, Dr. Biswajit Mukherjee & Prof. Tapan Kumar Barman were also present on the occasion.

Prof. Peter Banansch, of Deutsches Krebs for schungszentrum (DKFC), Heidelberg, Germany, also known as “FATHER OF HEPATOCARCINOGENESIS” was awarded with the IAPST Lifetime Achievement Award, 2013 for his contribution to the field of Liver Cancer.
Prof. Sreemantula Satyanarayana, of Andhra University was awarded the “Pharmaceutical Scientist of the Year 2013” award.
Prof. Ranendra Nath Saha of BITS, Pilani and Prof. R.N. Gupta of BIT, Mesra was jointly the winner of the “Pharmaceutical Professional of The Year, 2013” award.

After the inaugural session there were two lectures by Prof. Peter Banansch and Prof Ronendra Nath Saha. In the evening, a cultural programme was organized with dance performances by NSHM students. Also there was a musical performance by Mr. Abhinaba Mukherjee and classical songs were presented by Mrs Avantika Chakraborty.

The 2nd day (18th January, 2014) was marked with lectures from various scientists including Prof Hans Jörg Hacker and Prof. Ulrike Holzgrabe (Germany), Dr. Geza Safrany (Hungary), Dr Meltem Saribeyoglu and Dr R Eda Giray (Turkey), Dr. Go-Mei Lin (Singapore), Dr Johan Engblom (Sweden), Prof. Jouni Hirvonen (Finland), Prof Norhonam Abdul Wahab (Malayasia). Among the Indian scientists, Prof. Anil Kumar, Prof. Jui Chakraborty, Prof. B. Mishra, Prof. Nirmalendu Das, Prof. R Manavalan, Prof Uttam C Bandyopadhyay, Prof. Ashok B Jadhav and Prof. R.C. Gupta were the presenter in various halls. There was a parallel poster as well as Oral presentation too. In the evening there was a cultural programme followed by dinner.
The 3rd day (19th January) was also eventful with presentations from Prof. V Ravichandran (USA), Prof. V Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Prof. Lisa Kathlyn Ryan (USA) and Prof. E M Williamson (UK) which created a lot of interest among the audience. In the valedictory session, the winners of the Poster and Oral session were awarded.

NCPT College Event:
On 21st January, 2014, Prof. Lisa Kathlyn Ryan (USA) and Prof. Hans Jörg Hacker (GERMANY) visited the NSHM knowledge campus for an interactive session with the students of NSHM. Prof Hacker is a scientist from German Cancer Research Institute and currently is working on hepatocarcinogenesis. Prof Ryan, Professor, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, USA, is currently working on Air Pollution Control and Innate Immunology.
After a warm welcome, an interactive session was organized at the AV Room at the Kolkata campus. Both the scientists shared their experience on how they started their research. Questions from the NSHM students were widely appreciated. Prof Hacker encouraged the students to start research on their own. Prof Ryan emphasized on the growth of research interest on individual. The session was chaired by Prof. Biswajit Mukherjee of Jadavpur University. Prof. Tapan Kumar Barman, Principal, NCPT and Mr. Krishnendu Sarkar, Director, NCMT were present in the session. Mr. Sarkar emphasized to start collaborative research from the early stage.

Later the scientists visited the laboratories of the college and highly praised the set-ups.